Course Syllabus

 

Lecture Date Title Slides HW
1 Tue 1/22/2019 Introduction to class Lecture 1
2 Thu 1/24/2019 Narrowband Receiver architectures Lecture 2
3 Tue 1/29/2019

Broadband Receiver
Architectures

Lecture 3

HW1

HW1 hint

4 Thu 1/31/2019 Receiver Radio System Calculations
a real Example
Lecture 4
5 Tue 2/05/2019 Receiver Radio System Calculations
a real Example, cont

 

6 Thu 2/07/2019 Transmitter
Architectures
Lecture 5

HW1-due

7 Tue 2/12/2019 Transmitter
Architectures, cont
HW2
8 Thu 2/14/2019 High-Efficiency Transmitter
Architectures
Lecture 6
Tue 2/19/2019 no class (ISSCC)

 

9 Thu 2/21/2019 High-Efficiency Transmitter
Architectures, cont'

HW2-due

HW2 solution

 

10 Tue 2/26/2019 Low noise amplifier, principles Lecture 7

HW3

11 Thu 2/28/2019 CMOS RF LNA Design Lecture 8

 

12 Tue 3/05/2019 CMOS RF LNA Design, cont'
13 Thu 3/07/2019 Practical aspecs of LNA design/ Broadband LNA design/Bipolar (BJT) LNA Design Lecture 9 HW4
14 Tue 3/12/2019 RF Mixer design, principles Lecture 10

HW3-due

15 Thu 3/14/2019 RF Mixer circuits Lecture 11

 

16 Tue 3/19/2019 Baseband Filter Design Lecture 12

 

17 Thu 3/21/2019 Active Filter Implementation Lecture 13

HW4-due

HW5

Thu 3/26/2019 Spring Break
Tue 3/28/2019 Spring Break
18 Tue 4/02/2019 Filter Tuning, Complex Filters Lecture 14

HW5-due

Project

19 Thu 4/04/2019 VGA/PGA Design Lecture 15
20 Tue 4/09/2019 DC-offset calibration and DC Servo Loop Design Lecture 16
21 Thu 4/11/2019 Transmitter circuits Lecture 17
22 Tue 4/16/2019 Transmitter circuits, 'cont
23 Thu 4/18/2019 Power-amplifier design Lecture 18
24 Tue 4/23/2019 Power-amplifier design, cont
25 Thu 4/25/2019 T/R switch design Lecture 19
26 Tue 4/30/2019 VCO design Lecture 20
27 Thu 5/02/2019 LO-generation design Lecture 21
Friday 5/10/2019 Project Due

 

Course Summary:

Date Details